1970s parcels traffic to Southend East

Hi all,

I'm new to RMWeb and this is my first post.

I'm interested in finding out more info about the parcels trains that went to Southend East each weekday during the 1970s. The service was hauled either by Class 31 or 37s. The rolling stock was a mixture of GUV, CCT and full brake.

Here are 2 links to photos by David Ford. The first showing the service on its return journey, passing Leigh on Sea. The second is at Southen East.

http://davidford663.fotopic.net/p56338996.html

http://davidford663.fotopic.net/p56419795.html

What I'd like to find out is where the service originated. I always assumed it was someplace in London.

The service arrived at Southend East around 16:00 each day and went into a dedicated platform on the south side of the station.

Also, as I'm trying to model a parcels service, I'd like to ask (stupid question, maybe) if the BRUTEs were wheeled onto the rolling stock and went with the train, Or were they used only on the platform and their contents unloaded into heaps in the rolling stock.

Any help, advice much appreciated.

Andy

Hi all,

I'm interested in finding out more info about the parcels trains that went to Southend East each weekday during the 1970s. The service was hauled either by Class 31 or 37s. The rolling stock was a mixture of GUV, CCT and full brake.

Here are 2 links to photos by David Ford. The first showing the service on its return journey, passing Leigh on Sea. The second is at Southen East.

What I'd like to find out is where the service originated. I always assumed it was someplace in London.

The service arrived at Southend East around 16:00 each day and went into a dedicated platform on the south side of the station.