South Western Main Line Working Info

kaiwhara

Hi All

I am tentatively looking at options for several locations to model on the South Western Main Line in N Scale, most likely centered on the Sectorised period as that was when I grew up in the area (I lived in Winchester till age 6, then shifted to New Zealand where I have been ever since). I now work as a Locomotive Engineer for Kiwirail in Auckland, New Zealand, having spent several years working in various Metro Area Signal Boxes before their closure.

I am trying to find out as much about the working of trains through this period, and have managed to aquire a Passenger WG section WTT from 1993 (I think, it's downstairs while I rebuild the Kitchen) which is good in giving detailed operational information from that time, but doesn't go into detail on what stock formations I could expect to see on particular services, nor gives any information on what I could expect to see in the way of freights. Sadly my childhood memory doesn't serve me with much more than Slam Door EMU's (I didn't know there was more that one type till several years after I left the country), Wessex Electrics, HST's, and the odd loco, but not what the were hauling.

Seeing as it is a little hard to get Print information here - or specifically where to look for it, I am wondering what everyone else has in the way of operational information for this area, particularly west of Woking.

Thanks in advance

Hi Kaiwhara, and welcome to RMweb.

Your question, regarding working of trains, throughout the NSE years, "Everything and Anything",. covers quite a time period.

Furthermore...West of Woking covers quite a large area / section / options.

Fer instance...the 'Pompey Direct';,...the Southampton, Bournemouth, Weymouth, the Salisbury and Exeter.(and beyond)

..This raises several questions, if not, more.

First off....What is your available modelling space ?

....What variations of NSE traffic are you / do you prefer, modelling ?.