How do I test O gauge/7mm scale locos?

ChooChoo_Baloo

Hello All,

I am relatively new to O gauge modelling. I have mainly built wagons, but recently built my first locomotive - a Southern G6 tank engine. I don't have any O gauge track to test my rolling stock on.

Testing the motor and general running of the chassis was done with an old Hornby OO gauge controller, with the bare wire ends pushed against the inside of the wheel rims, on the upside down chassis.

I wasn't content with this method of loco. testing. Please could members advise me:

• are rolling roads a worthwhile investment for testing 7mm scale locos, or best get a length of track instead, or both!?
  • Are there analogue controllers designed specififcally for O gauge, or are OO gauge ones fine? If this is the case, I presume that O and OO gauge locomotive motors run off of the same voltages/current?

As I say I am a relative beginner, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

A rolling road is probably a good investment, or even a couple of lengths of track. Alternatively if you haven't a friend with a 7mm layout, try visiting an exhibition with a 7mm scale test track. The GOG and ALSRM events usually have one.

An OO controller may not have quite enough amps for O Gauge, though it depends to an extent on the size of motor you are using. Obviously, the more powerful the motor the more power it tends to draw. Generally modern O Gauge locos work off 12 volts DC like OO ones. Unless you are kitted out for DCC of course...

• RMweb Premium