If you're new to the forum this is an ideal place to introduce yourself.

A complete novice joins

Truly Amateur Novice

Hi

As my name and topic title suggest i am completely new to the world of Railway Modelling (within the last 18 months) and am in the process of building my first layout - i don't even have a name for it yet! My knowledge is extremely limited, and its fair to say that practical skills are not my forte but i have a very patient Father In Law who has helped, and continues to help with ideas and advice. He took me to the Warley Show at the NEC last year and it was a real eye opener.

My domestic manager has allowed me a spare room (a recent house move was dependent on having enough space for a Walk in Closet and a train room for a permanent layout) the 6 baseboards that the room holds were built over a week in March '12, my responsibility was mainly holding the wood straight, although at 1 point i was promoted to light drill work.

The pictures that are below show what i have managed to achieve within the last 6 months (roughly the amount of time i have been physically building) - its a continous run, with an Eddie Stobart distribution centre/warehouse, 2 stations and the rest is open to ideas - its a very much make us as i go along project, but its my money funding this - so there!

Mainly used Metcalfe Models for the buildings - i have attempted Scalescene's models a couple of times but i will refer you to the non existent practical skills so they have pretty much ended up in the recycling!

Most of my rolling stock are in the pictures - my pride and joy is an Eddie Stobart Class 66, with a H90 Intercity (i think!) coming in a close 2nd

I am tempted to "blog" from the complete novice point of view but am unsure as to whether any would be interested in reading as the majority of the readers will be far ahead.

Please feel free to comment on what you see.

post-15688-0-56886100-1337544404_thumb.jpg

post-15688-0-94892400-1337544434_thumb.jpg