Process for re-painting?

Hey I am new to this forum, though I have been collecting Hornby and Mehano products since I was 4 years old (12 years ago).

Recently I bought a Hornby Class 60 in Mainline aircraft blue for about 77 quid in mint condition and a few Hornby MK1 Sleeper coaches for around 99p each from ebay.

I have two questions.

1) I want to add the EWS beastie to my Class 60 so I want to know the process of applying the transfer and what tools would I need?

2) I want to re-paint the two coaches into BR maroon [as I got them in BR Blue lil' faded :( but runs well]

I again want to know the exact process of repainting eg. stripping, application of colour and do I need to seal it with a layer of gloss varnish??

Till now the only changes that I made to the coaches are changing the wheels, magnetic corridor connectors and adding a narrow tension lock coupling. So can anyone please help me with a detailed description on the re-painting and decal application process. I have to know ASAP as I live in Bangalore (India) so that I can order the tools (airbrush, paintbrush etc) from the UK.

Cheers...!

1) I want to add the EWS beastie to my Class 60 so I want to know the process of applying the transfer and what tools would I need?

To apply a transfer to a smooth area like a bodyside, first give the area a couple of coats of gloss varnish to give a good flat, smooth area to apply the transfer. Many modellers like Johnsons Klear (actually a brand of acrylic floor polish) for this job but the original formulation can be hard to find so any good gloss varnish will do.

Allow the varnish to dry thoroughly and then apply the transfer following the manufacturers instructions.

Allow the transfer to dry thoroughly and then seal it with another couple of coats of varnish. Satin or matt are probably better at this stage.

At this stage you may wish to add weathering if you like your locos to look "used" although this is entirely up to you.