If you're new to the forum this is an ideal place to introduce yourself.

Greetings

RW James

My name is Rick James. I live in Carson City, Nevada - that would be in the US.

I've been modeling for over 40 years, mostly in HO, and mostly western US railroads spanning from the let 19th century to the early 20th century.

About 15 years ago I built a display layout that my son and I could take to shows - based on Thomas the Tank Engine. It was a big success and enjoyed by all the kids that came to see it.

As my son grew older and his interests went to other things, I dismantled the layout and stored all the parts.

Then in 2005 we travelled to Scotland for the World Pipe Band Championships and I had the opportunity to check out the rail system in the Stirling area. Aboslutely fell in love with British railways.

Then, just 5 months ago I had my first grandchild and decided it was time to build a new layout - once again based on Thomas. But this time, I wanted to do it right. That is follow British railway practices as much as I could. So a fair amount of internet research on the subject has led me here. This forum seems to be a good source of such knowledge.

I don't know how much I can contribute (unless you want to know something about the V&T Railway). But I'll do what I can.

I retired just over two years ago from the Nevada Department of Information Technology - I was a mainframe systems programmer. I'm an amateur musician (guitar and bagpipes).

Thanks in advance for your help.

• RMweb Gold

Hi Rick, and welcome to RMweb from another modeller from overseas smile.gif

Sounds interesting to have a Thomas layout that follows prototype operating practices.

There are a couple of other Thomas modellers on here I believe, eg Churchill8Fs blog (although he has decided to go without the faces), here:

http://www.rmweb.co....&showentry=2238

Prototype info can be found in many of the topics of course, eg for signalling you might consider: