The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

Astrophotography

Sam '43003' Tanner

Hi guys & girls,

I'm kicking off a thread and hoping there isn't one similar! Show us what you've got from the skies above us.

My initial contribution is a short timelapse video and a couple of startrail images from the last few days. I'll have to leave you with the link for the video.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/caerusaviation/9529481210/

9497637827_97529086de_c.jpg
Decay by Caerus Aviation, on Flickr

9500435798_65fef480f5_c.jpg
Tree by Caerus Aviation, on Flickr

Sam.

I'm just getting into landscape photography myself and have just bought myself a (rather expensive) set of Lee filters. No help here of course but it has raised my awareness of star trails and they are definitely on my to do list when conditions and location allow.

Have you got any advise Sam? What method do you use - 1 exposure or many combined?

Andrew

I don't know if it fits in with your interests or not but last Monday I visited the "Visions of the Universe" exhibition at Greenwich.  It contains some stunning photographs of celestial objects and amazing photos from the Hubble Space Telescope, the Mariner Lander (a 360 degree rotating projection onto a long wall of the Martian landscape), and many other gems.

It's only on 'til 15th September, but if you can get there I'm sure you'll be amazed by it, as Jane and I were.  The tickets are a bargain and also allow entry to Cutty Sark, The Royal Observatory, and other sites for a 30 day period.

Lovely stuff Barry. I'm investing in a better telescope to start getting some deep space objects. We shall see what happens with that!