Class 67 fault

valeofyork

I've been collecting bits and pieces of N gauge for a few years, but due to lack of a layout it's been sitting in a drawer. I've now put together a basic layout and tested the locos, and most of them are fine (particularly impressed with the performance of the Dapol HST).

However, one of the locos, a 67 from the Wrexham & shropshire set, clearly has a fault. I put it on the track and applied power, and its lights came on and it did a half-circuit of the track, then stopped. I couldn't get it to move again, although there was a faint buzzing when power was applied (no lights now either).

I checked that the pickups were making good contact (they were), so not that. I carefully removed the body, unplugging the lights, and checked the solder joints, all of which appear to be OK. Putting the chassis on the track now gets no response at all when power is applied, not even a buzzing.

Although the loco hasn't been run before (I bought it new) it will be well out of warranty now. I know that DCC supplies are the Dapol authorised repairer, and I see that they have a chassis for the 67 on their site for sixty quid. I have also emailed DCC supplies asking for a likely cost to repair the existing chassis.

So, is there anything else obvious I could check which might be the cause of the fault?

Thanks

Thanks - you are correct!

I applied the power to the motor contacts, and the motor ran. At the same time, one of the components on the circuit board went up in a puff of white smoke!

So is it possible to get a new circuit board? This isn't listed on the DCC supplies site as an available spare.

Or, anyone know how much DCC supplies are likely to charge to replace the circuit board?

DCC supplies and Dapol offered to repair it (and the HST I have with faulty lights) free of charge given that they had been stored since I bought them :thankyou:

Good customer service there!