Help with DCC sound.

Multiple identity account 2

Hi,

I need a little help regarding DCC sound. Since I design and make my own model (Indian ones) I thought it would be nice to add sounds too. The thing is that I don't know much about DCC sound. My models will be using BullAnt motor bogies and my plan is to use a 8/21-pin Hornby DCC chip. I want to hardwire the chip to the motor. Is that ok and how do I connect the speaker to the DCC chip? Ive made a rough sketch of what I think is my plan and how it should be. I am completely new to all this.

To me this is basically what I have in mind for my finished model:-
- Hardwire a 8 or 21-pin Hornby decoder to the motor bogie
- Connect the speaker to the DCC chip.

Is that how it should be or do I need another chip for DCC sound?

Would appreciate any advice on this topic.

Regards,
J

post-15929-0-51180400-1388493557_thumb.jpg

Your sounds are contained on the DCC chip/decoder. Unfortunately the Hornby decoders are just for motive power and functions like lights. They contain no sound samples.

You would need to hard wire a chip with sounds, something like ESU, Zimo or some other European brand. Sorry I'm not very knowledgable on all makes that are available.

Regards,

Mark

Currently available Hornby brand decoders do not have sound capability. This may change during the coming year, see  Hornby TTS sound. If they become available separately they will be 8 pin connector type. You will not be able to add your own sounds.

Sound-programmable decoders (which also run your motor) are available from Digitrax, ESU and ZIMO. Depending on your loco types, you might find that some US sound decoders will fit your requirements. These are generally less expensive but you cannot load your own sounds.

I would not recommend Digitrax, even in their latest format.

In the UK, Digitrax latest series cost around GBP55, ESU with British loco sounds pre-loaded for between GBP96 and GBP117 depending upon the supplier.