Whiteclose Lane

Malangan

Last time I modelled a railway was when I was still at school and I had a variety of unmatched locomotives, everything was Hornby set track and my modelling skills where not the finest. Also materials would only stretch as far as my mother would be willing to spend at once. So half way through I got bored and sold up whilst I was at college. After finishing college I worked as a herdsman on a farm in Carlisle which took all my time up so I never even looked at model railways never mind thinking about building one. But after a career change into the family engineering business,moving back to leyland with my own house and even inherited family (girlfriend has a baby) I have weeknights and weekends to indulge in any hobby I want. So I've gone mad, I volunteer Thursday nights and Sundays at my local preserved narrow gauge railway, started a veg plot, and in the last few weeks started building a model railway onto a 2400 x 600 floorboard. I've chosen a floorboard because the groves give me potential for massive expansion. However when it comes to moving it off my dining room table I think I might regret it. If I choose to transport it I think I will just pop it in my caravan through the front window for a smooth and spacious ride to wherever I decide to take it. In theory it sounds great but reality has it's good ways of fighting back!

Anyway, enough about me and my life.
My track plan is taken from a track plan website and extended with a preserved steam railway branch disconnected from the main line. I've always had a fascination with preserved lines and I have that many broken trucks and locomotives that I didn't sell I think with some weathering they would make a great scrap line.

[post-21838-0-30840600-1391289609.jpg