What software?

Dear all,

I'm toying with buying some 2d/3d software as I want to try preparing my own drawings for lazer cutting, etching and maybe even 3d printing. I dont want to spend a fortune - I have a limited modelling budget and what I spend on software will reduce the sums available for all things GWR. I have no engineering background and I've never used cad before.

What software do you suggest? I've seen the long list of software links you have put together, but still have no idea which to try. Does prepping drawings for etching need different software than for laser cutting fir example?

Has anyone used total cad 2d 3d version 2? Would you recommend it for novices?

Thanks for any advice you can give

Regards

Duncan

Hi Duncan, welcome to the wonderful but slightly confusing world of computer assisted design.

Unfortunately you are probably looking at at least two different bits of software, and possibly three for laser cutting, etching and 3d printing respectively.  On the upside, there are perfectly good free tools for all of these.

For laser cutting and etching I recommend "inkscape", which is a free vector graphics tool for 2d design.  It's similar to Adobe InDesign or Adobe Illustrator or Coreal Draw in function.

For 3d printing my suggestion is SketchUp Make (the free version), which is probably the easiest 3D tool to learn to use.  You might find the suggestions in this thread helpful: http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/82707-newbie-to-3d-printing-and-cad/

Just remember to start with some simple test pieces before launching into a big project.  Good luck!

I have just started with Solidworks for creating models to be 3-D printed by Shapeways and it is quite easy to be up and running and producing things effectively in a couple of weeks. Not the cheapest but might prove a good investment if it saves you time. I have yet to try any of the other disciplines though.