7mm LNWR 2-4-0T brass kit - Gateneal?

• RMweb Premium

I have managed to acquire a finished O gauge brass model of what I believe is a LNWR 2-4-0T.

There are no markings on the model to indicate the producer other than what looks like the word Gateneal (partly obliterated by solder) on the brass work onto which the motor is bolted.

The model had been advertised as a good runner. It may have been in its day but it lacked lubrication when I got it and the wheels were filthy. Suffice to say that good running was not at the forefront of what I found.

I am not an engineer (nor do I have too much of a leaning in that direction). My only real experience with motors and gears dates back to cleaning Tri-ang X04 assemblies some forty plus years ago.

I initially cleaned the wheels and lubricated the moving parts of the model but that didn't help the model's performance. I subsequently discovered that the springs on the plunger pick-ups were more tired than I usually am when I go to bed and I have since replaced all four units. The performance has improved and once it is moving at a reasonable speed the loco seems to be OK. However, it struggles to keep moving at slow speed.

The pick-ups are obviously having some impact on the free movement of the chassis but other than that the loco seems to move reasonably well with the Mashima motor disconnected. I have not detected any binding from the coupling rods which always seem to have a degree of play in them.

The gear is held onto the driven axle by a grub screw, the top of which seems to be proud and, I think, could be snagging on the worm. Alas, when I move the gear far enough to one side for the grub screw to be clear of the worm, the worm and gear quickly un-mesh due to the sideways movement of the axle. The motor shaft onto which the worm appears to be a push fit, moves back and forth about 0.5mm depending on the direction of rotation of the motor. The worm is about 2mm clear of the brass work holding the motor.