Rookie steam modelling - valves behind Prairie cab steps - what are they?

Hello,

A slightly red-faced enquiry... I'm new to steam loco modelling after a good few years of chopping RTR 4mm diesels*, hence I have some questions (and a request for pics) to help me out with my latest project.

I'm modifying a Hornbix 61xx into a (hopefully) passable representation of a 5101, including adding the lamp-iron recess in the bunker rear wall below the coal fender. Aside from the usual smokebox door handle, handrails and lamp irons, I'm looking to model some of the "kettle workings" on this one, and I've obtained a few photos including two of my chosen loco - 4129 in late-crest lined green.

Sooo... what are the valves behind each cab footstep please? I have a vague idea that one is the live steam injector and the other is a water injector, but I'm guessing - I have to admit that I'm not familiar with the intricacies of steam loco construction and operation; I just like them rather a lot. I'd rather like to model those valves and their associated pipework, in something like a representative fashion.

Further questions, if I may:

(1) Are these parts available in 4mm, and if so, made by whom? and

(2) Does anyone have any detail photos of each side's valves and pipework please? The photos I've found to date are atmospheric but of their time, hence picking-out the finer details isn't easy.

As always, the benefit of others' knowledge and experience will be much appreciated! Over to you, folks :-)

*I'm still modelling diesels too, but an increasing proportion of them seem to have hydraulic transmission!

• RMweb Premium

Both are injectors, one is live steam only and the other is the exhaust steam injector which also has a live steam facility. They both inject cold water from the tanks into the boiler via the clack valves. The clack valve is a one way valve to stop the steam escaping, on GW most engines have top feed and the clacks are mounted either side of the safety valve.