Making a Start in 2FS - Some Thoughts

PatB

I've been faffing around at the edge of 2FS for several months now. Joined the Association, attended the excellent gathering of the Australian contingent last August, have started collecting BR Blue period stock for rewheeling and keep trying to organise an order with the Association shop so that I can actually get something under way, but I still haven't actually sent off my completed order forms. I could procrastinate for my country, I really could :D.

Part of my hesitation has been, I think, lack of a plan which is clear and, most importantly, achievable given my current circumstances. If I may be forgiven for a somewhat rambling post, I feel that setting my thoughts down here may help in crystallising a few things that are starting to come together in my head.

My interest in the scale stems from two factors. Firstly, although I've recently been fiddling about with 0 gauge kit construction and enjoy the larger scale, I also have a hankering for, one day, a substantial, main-line roundy-roundy and I simply can't envisage ever having the space to do this in 7mm (or the money to stock it, come to that, even without resorting to r-t-r). Whilst N might be a more sensible choice, I find myself dissatisfied with the appearance of proprietary N track and consider it worth the effort to go to the better looking finescale track standards. Secondly, my current circumstances, as alluded to earlier, are not conducive to modelmaking on any extensive scale. I'm working away from home, living in digs where even uninterrupted access to a flat surface is not a given, and am having to get used to being without the workshop facilities I've, rather shamefully, come to take for granted at home. It's an awful lot easier to pack 2mm/N equipment, and the tools needed to build it, into a box at the end of a modelling session than it is with 7mm. Things may be improving a bit in the forseeable future but things still won't be ideal.