Pondering on a larger scale......

locotracteur351

Good afternoon,

I am a driver on the Chemin de fer de la baie de Somme in Northern France, and whilst I'm at university not able to be out there playing with real steam locos (and diesels, but they're not as fun!) I usually play around with OO gauge as I have a large collection, but I build models in any gauge/scale combination that takes my fancy and I'm currently leaning towards a dabble in O gauge. I have a motorless Lima 4F that I've started to improve at some point in the past, and a scratch built black five that I detailed, as it was just a basic body shell. I have since restored the chassis of the black five, but it could do with a lot of work to bring it up to scratch so I am happy!

I was reading hartleymartin's thread about his card Y6 kit, and saw NeilHB's comment about cheap loco wheels. The cost of wheels was putting me off any chassis scratch building, but having seen this now, I am rather tempted indeed! :P Looking at their choice of loco wheels (http://www.modelrailwayparts.com/wheels_0g-steel-loco.html) restricts what can be done in the steam department due to size and lack of spokes, but seeing as how close 3'1'' is to 3' (21.53mm as against 21.00mm) I think with etched overlays and a few holes drilled in the wheels, a L&Y pug (or class 21 if you prefer) becomes feasable! The price of a worm and wheel gear set from ultrascale does not bust the bank, and a good quality slow running motor with maybe a flywheel is then all I need to get a small, reasonably priced, slow running shunter for whatever I want to do in the future.

Let me know what you think, its only an initial idea at the moment!

Thank you in advance,

Jagger Gledhill

There was an excellent article on improving the Lima 4F years ago in the Gauge O Guild Gazette. As I recall it involved replacing the main section of the boiler with a length of drainpipe!