Tyneside NER EMU in Gauge 1 and other diversions

Beatty 139

I have finally made my mind up for my next personal personal project as opposed to my commercial modelling works, a 1904 N.E.R. Tyneside electric set, I made an appeal for information on RMweb but I did not unearthed anything that I was already aware of, but fortunately at the ALSRM Manchester show a couple of weeks ago I came across the N.E.R.A and on their sales stand I came across a number of books. I will list the information sources as I go so as to assist anyone else who share an interest in this system.

I have held a fascination about the Tyneside suburban system since I was a student in the 1990's in Newcastle.

Sources of information:

The North Eastern Electrics, Oakwood press Locomotion papers No,15

The North Eastern Electrics, The History of Tyneside electric passenger services 1904-67. Oakwood Press LP165

North Eastern Record Vol 2, HMRS

Following the Manchester show I have also found.

North Eastern Railway Electric Traction on Tyneside 1904. NERA 2004

North Eastern Railway Diagrams of Passenger Train Vehicles Book No.2 beginning June 1900, NERA

My first though was to build a single double driver car to run as a single unit or a motor parcels van, but after much though I have decided to go for gold and build a 3 Car 1904 period set with Laycock gates to the vestibules before they were modified to doors and large front windows, as I largely work with laser cut materials and other production techniques such as photo etching, resin casting etc. to make three should be as easy to make one, and if I get the basics right, I can soon build some of the later variants.

The set I have chosen to build are L.M.S.1 Luggage Motor Single Driver 1st Class to Diagram 90 , T.3 Trailer 3rd class to Diagram 92, M.S.3 Motor Single Driver 3rd class to Diagram 91.

I like to build my models framework upwards a luxury that I can do working in Gauge 1 10mm scale.