' Smooth DC Power Pack " ......help !

JOHN250

Hi everyone.

I'm in the process of setting up DC and DCC control - I know why would I do that ?

I'm devoting one track to DC for exclusive use with Kato Soundbox.

That leaves me with 2 tracks for DCC.

My Digitrax Zephyr DCS50 manual states " You can add any Loconet throttle to your DCS50 or you can use one or two smooth DC power packs as Jump throttles "

I have a Guagemaster series D and I'm wondering if this may be suitable ?

Any help would be most welcome.

EDIT......I've just found this reference "  By smooth I think they mean one that is not a pulse type power pack."

So can anyone help please ?

Should be OK with the model D.  

However, regardless of controller used, do not expect quite as much finesse with the jump-port as you get with a real DCC throttle.  There is a significant lag caused by the need to convert the DC input to a DCC instruction, and on some Zephyr's the zero point of the jump-port doesn't quite equal zero volts, so the loco might be set to speed step 1 when you think it should be stopped. 

So, OK as an interim solution, but if looking for top-notch control, save up for a real second throttle - I really like the new Uhlenbrock Daisy II throttle which, being LocoNet, works nicely with Digitrax command stations. 

- Nigel

Hi everyone.

I'm in the process of setting up DC and DCC control - I know why would I do that ?

I'm devoting one track to DC for exclusive use with Kato Soundbox.

That leaves me with 2 tracks for DCC.

My Digitrax Zephyr DCS50 manual states " You can add any Loconet throttle to your DCS50 or you can use one or two smooth DC power packs as Jump throttles "

I have a Guagemaster series D and I'm wondering if this may be suitable ?

Any help would be most welcome.

EDIT......I've just found this reference "  By smooth I think they mean one that is not a pulse type power pack."

So can anyone help please ?