Roxey 0 gauge loco kits

hayfield

I am about to order either a SR P class loco or a Beattie from Roxey, if possible would like to buy a complete kit. As well as wheels, motor & gears, there are a couple of other options, think they are sprung buffers and plunger pickups, are these 2 options worth buying ? and any other tips, thoughts or suggestions would be very welcome.

Hi John

Can't comment on either kit, or Roxey in general, as I have no experience of them.

I would always fit sprung buffers to a loco, indeed, I have done so to all my rolling stock.

Regarding plungers - bit like Marmite - some people love them, some hate them. My experience is generally satisfactory, but with the provisos that they are difficult to fix if they wear out or go wrong, and they can be in the way or visible between the frames. Other options are backscratchers mounted on PCB or on hard wire busbars, or split axles. If you are confident that you can make up back scratchers, or split axles, then go right ahead, if not, I'd suggest plungers. If you do use plungers, then use the thinnest possible wire to connect them to your motor or decoder.

HTH

Simon

As recommended by Ozzyo, you could try the Alan Gibson 4mm plunger pickups. These seem to have less drag than the 7mm types.

I would always fit sprung buffers, if only because they will be turned fittings rather than cast and the ability to paint them with the buffer heads out is useful.

Like Simon, I can't comment on Roxey kits (although the gearbox I bought from them a while ago was very nice) but I've decided that, as a novice kit builder, I like plungers.