Physical help with fault finding.

DCB

Reading this column and being recently redundant I am planning to start a help service for modelers who run into problems on their layouts which they cannot take back to the dealer.  My plan is to attend owners layouts and deal with electrical  faults such as short circuits, or faulty electric points, electric signals semaphore and Colour light, LEDs etc.

I am based near Cirencester so North Cotswolds and Swindon, Cheltenham, Gloucester and Stroud are well in my reach,

I have many years experience as a railway modeler and I can provide excellent references.

I formerly worked in the Motor Trade on car electrics, wiring, fault finding, before taking up office based employment and am still available for classic car wiring projects. 

Is there a demand for this paid service for modelers do you think?  

Have Multimeter will travel?

David Broad  01285 720313

• RMweb Gold

Good luck David.

(But I think you will find modellers are the tightest bunch of skinflints on this side of the Milky Way!)

Kev.

I have been offering 100% free advice to modellers for far too many years now than I like to recall.

A very few of those who requested help have actually asked if I could attend their home and look at the problem, it's an extreamily small number of the total, probably not more than 1% of all assistance requests of which there have been hundreds. Hence why I run a dedicated web site and wrote a book!

I always offer email and very occasionally telephone advice which usually allows the layout owner themselves to work through the problem following a logical testing and checking process, this allows them to resolve their own issues, which they appreciate as they are learning.

I doubt if you will get many requests for hands on help, and as had been stated, most modellers work on very tight budgets!

But good luck to you if it gets going.