9' wagon chassis (OO)

22xx

I'm no expert on wagon brake gear, but it seems odd to me that all the new 9' Dapol POWs I've seen (in the flesh and on the Dapol and Hattons websites) appear to have it on only one side. I assume it's deliberate, so I'd be very grateful to anyone who can shed some light on the prototypical / modelling / manufacturing reason for it. Thanks very much in advance!

Providing they have modelled it with the correct style of linkage so that it could (if real) be operated from both sides (normally achieved with the 'Morton clutch' arrangement) it would not be unusual to have just two brake shoes on the same side. Many steel 16 ton minerals were built this way, even into the 1950s.

Do you mean this sort of wagon http://www.ehattons.com/StockDetail.aspx?SID=25532 http://www.ehattons.com/StockDetail.aspx?SID=25530 ? Its frankly a bit of a joke all around for new tooling..

It has independent brakes gear on one side only so its only really valid up until very early in the century before the RCH ruled that you needed to be able to operate brakes at the right hand end of both sides of the wagon. I think you had brakes both sides by 1907 spec though most of the fittings are the 1907 design.

Most of these wagons had bottom doors so no cross shaft.

The door catches being 1/2 way up a plank is quite odd and the door strapping leading up to it would really only be the length of the door.

Do you mean this sort of wagon http://www.ehattons.com/StockDetail.aspx?SID=25532 http://www.ehattons.com/StockDetail.aspx?SID=25530 ? Its frankly a bit of a joke all around for new tooling..

It has independent brakes gear on one side only so its only really valid up until very early in the century before the RCH ruled that you needed to be able to operate brakes at the right hand end of both sides of the wagon. I think you had brakes both sides by 1907 spec though most of the fittings are the 1907 design.