15098 Simplex Shunter

Hello,

Please excuse any errors as I am new to using RMWEB as a Member .....

I have an OO gauge Impetus kit of the Simplex Petrol Shunter.

I am hoping to model 15098  as I already have sister loco 15099 built.

Any information, photos, tips, help would be really appreciated.

First question, is it possible to build 15098 from the kit ?

Many thanks, Staffordshire

Metr0land, thanks for the photo, that is one I had not seen

Michael (Edge),   to me it appears the roof for 15098 is placed on at 90 degrees to the roof on 15099 eg ....   flat edges at front and back rather than at the sides.

I know this appeared to be the case for the GWR locos 23-27    

More help and details would be appreciated/

Ian 

Fundamentally, the Impetus kit should be fine - the basic loco is the same - but the cab is different. Mike's model is from the GW version of the kit and this has the cab Swindon added to the basic design.

If you want an accurate model, you'll have to build your own cab which doesn't look hugely complicated. I'd want a couple more photos to work from but the basic structure isn't difficult.

Adam

• 8 months later...

I think there is a drawing of the generic type in the Simplex Works List (a list of all the Simplex locos built, and rather like a telephone directory with the interesting bits taken out) published by Dennis Duck Pbns. I will check.

K

Is there a published line drawing for this prototype? We had a few of these in Australia and I'd like to have a crack at one in 7mm scale.

Hey Marty do a bit of Goggling there is still one up near Byron Bay if you contact Trevor H he may have some photos he took a few years ago when he and Bruce W visited the locals know it as the Green Frog.

Links

http://www.verandahmagazine.com.au/the-little-engine-that-still-could/

http://tdu.to/a8426/Simplex_%26_C37_Byron_Bay_4-11-1961.jpg

Guest royal signals