Dimming headcode lighting with Loksound V4

young37215

• RMweb Gold

Apologies if this has been asked before but I cannot find a thread. I want to dim the intensity of the headcode lights on my diesel fleet using the V4 decoder. Looking in the rather challenging Loksound manual for guidance, on P45 I think it references CV262 with a range of 0 -31.  

I have a Guagemaster Prodigy 2 to make CV changes but I am inexperienced in changing CV's. Before I make a complete horlicks of my expensive sound chip, please can someone advise/guide me on the following:

is CV262 the correct to CV to change for headcode lighting? If no, what is the correct CV?

what is the typical/factory default setting for headcode light intensity?

what CV setting would result in a more prototypical level of light?

Is the headcode lighting CV any different for a V3.5 decoder?

All guidance gratefully received

Rob

Apologies if this has been asked before but I cannot find a thread. I want to dim the intensity of the headcode lights on my diesel fleet using the V4 decoder. Looking in the rather challenging Loksound manual for guidance, on P45 I think it references CV262 with a range of 0 -31.  

I have a Guagemaster Prodigy 2 to make CV changes but I am inexperienced in changing CV's. Before I make a complete horlicks of my expensive sound chip, please can someone advise/guide me on the following:

is CV262 the correct to CV to change for headcode lighting? If no, what is the correct CV?

what is the typical/factory default setting for headcode light intensity?

what CV setting would result in a more prototypical level of light?

Rob

Hi Rob,

Yes you need CV 31=16, CV 32=0 before you change the lights.

CV 262 1-31 will change the brightness but unless the head code box lights are on a separate function button which I think are not it will change the brightness of the side lights as well and maybe the head light if fitted.