Cromford Wharf BR(C&HPR)

JustinDean

• RMweb Gold

Hi folks this is my first post here and a return to modelling after a short 26 year break. I've been lured back in by my partner and her family; a visit to Warley with the father-in-law along with purchasing a DJModels J94 sealed the deal. Back in my teenage years I managed to win and come runner up in the Railway Modeller Junior Cup so the last time I exhibited was at IMREX in (I think) 1991. Like many others I constructed many GWR branch line terminus, was in awe of Pendon and swallowed up as much info from Wild Swan publications as much as possible. These days I live in the beautiful town of Wirksworth in the Peaks and have chosen to model nearby Cromford Wharf in 60's era BR steam. The reasons why? I've been walking and cycling the High Peak trail for a couple of years now and this being the trackbed of the Cromford and High Peak Railway along with its many restored buildings sparked my interest. I've spent the last 6 months researching the line (specifically the Cromford Wharf site) and thanks to the internet there are a wealth of photos available to gain information on buildings, track layouts, stock and details which will help bring this layout to life.

This is probably a good point to mention another forum member here is also building a very fine layout of Cromford here:

http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/121657-cromford-wharf-shunting-layout-structures-and-scenery/page-1

There's an amazing layout of Sheep Pasture (top of the incline from Cromford) by Robin Whittle:

http://glevums4.co.uk/sheep-pasture.html

I've also gained a lot of inspiration and discovered some new techniques reading through the blog of this gentleman, Chris Nevard:

http://www.nevard.com/