Rojas' EM bits and bobs

37Oban

Hi,

well, after prevaricating for some time, and thanks to being inspired by Clive Mortimer and his diesel scratch builds,post-29674-0-40293400-1535919100_thumb.jpg I've finally managed to start this thread.  So, what's it all about?

"Another EM thread!" I hear you say.  And that's true, but only part of it.  Let me explain.  Fourteen years ago I had a stroke which severely affected my right side, which, when you are right-handed, is more than just a little inconvenient!  I taught myself to use my left hand for everything that I used my right for.  Even now I have less than 5% use in my right hand, which makes holding things, even lightly, a problem.  I really must get shares in the companies that make masking tape, Pritt and blue tack!

I've been building model railways for over 10 years.  In that time I've dabbled in O gauge, building several brass locomotive kits as well as various plastic rolling stock kits, which I've since disposed of.  Then I ventured into N gauge.  Not for me rtr track!  Oh no!  I built my own with sleepers and crossing timbers cut from lime wood and pcb strip, brass pins with the heads filed flat and code 55, then code 40 rail!  Plain track was 60ft panels with correct sleeper spacing, built in a home-made jig.  Not difficult to do;  my 10yr old daughter could solder panels together faster than I could!  Turnouts were a little more tricky, but I used a mixture of commercial and home made templates.  Single slip with all roads curved, curved diamond crossing, a tandem turnout with similar flexure and, just for fun, a bisected turnout!

At the beginning of this year I disposed of my N gauge stock, retaining just a few favourite items, as I realised that detailing rolling stock and adding things like S&W couplings was getting frustrating.  What to do?  Not enough space for O, as much as I enjoyed working with it.  4mm seemed ideal, but I don't like the track.  EM was the answer!