Modroc, scatter, grass

I've seen threads on the use of modroc, but there are some queries that I have that don't seem to have been answered elsewhere.

This is my first attempt with modeling scenery and it's a small area of hill, about 24" long, 6" deep (back to front) and rises up to the level of the tunnel portal that it's at the side of. Base is cardboard strips interwoven to the shape required. Layout is OO.

So, back to the modroc...

Some sites recommend mixing PVA with the water used to soak the modroc, and I'm sure I've seen someone recommend using additional polyfilla on it as it's put into place. So, what's the best way to lay this stuff please?

Additionally, when painting one needs to keep a, "wet edge," or the paint shows a line where wet has met dry. Is the same necessary with modroc please?

Once it's dry and ready to cover, I'm planning on covering it with an earthy-coloured paint, then covering with Woodland Scenics scatters. Is it worth considering static grass? The grass always seems too long and it sounds like a faff, using something looking like an electric tea-strainer to drop fibbers onto glue. That said, how should one go about laying scatter materials as it seems pretty important to get the thickness/density of the scattered material right so that it doesn't show too much of the underlying material through and doesn't look patchy and odd.

Sorry for all the questions in one posting, but they all seemed to hang together.

Thanks

Steve

• RMweb Gold

The alternative to scatters direct is to cover the modroc with a scenic mat which you then add extra scenics and colours to .The static grass can be puffed on to this using the Noch bottle if you don't want the outlay of the Grasmaster.I would lay the modroc onto a layer of pva for the first layer but cover with several sheets for more secure holding.The mismatch of sheets won't matter if you are covering it.

Thanks Robin.