Little Hampton, New Layout, My First

Cutchie

hello, this is my 1st layout and i am still pretty new at railway modelling :mellow:

my layout is on a 8 x 4 MDF board

i have some of the track laid and still some to be laid,

below is a picture of my tack plan, i haven't added any buildings to the plan, apart from the station

i would be happy to here your thoughts and any advice will be appreciated :D

thanks for viewing

speak soon

Daniel :D :D :D

post-7749-126922613805_thumb.jpg

• RMweb Premium

Hi Daniel

Thanks for taking the time to put up your track plan. It looks OK to me for a first build but may I make a few comments?

First you might want to consider how trains will enter your sidings; at present they are only provided with a connection trailing into the inner track which means entry can only be gained by reversing around the curve. You might find that causes problems of buffers locking and couplers over-riding particularly if the curve radius is as tight as it has to be on many layouts. Would it be possible to have a connection also coming in from the other end so that they were through sidings? I understand that you may have in mind to build a single-ended shed there so my idea would not be possible.

You should also take care when wiring that you wire, isolate and switch the power correctly. You have several potential shorts there where both loops can feed trains onto a track already powered for the opposite direction.

But as a basic concept for a layout with some variety to the operations (two tracks, three platform roads, reversals and overtaking possible in the station and the shed / yard area to shunt) it is a good starting plan.

I'm assuming you are using OO, sectional track?