Lavington Cement

Steadfast

Well, this is it. I'm committing to actually building a layout. Something I've never done before...

Anywho, onwards.

The Background

The setting is near Market Lavington, on the northern fringe of Salisbury plain. I'm adjusting history slightly, in saying that there was a line built linking the Berks and Hants route out of Westbury with the Salisbury to Basingstoke line. The northern junction is at Great Cheverell, with the Chocolate Poodle pub a Littleton Pannell located in between the two lines. Only the bridge carrying the Berks and Hants suffers bridge strikes, the level of the road meaning that the Salisbury line has greater clearance. The southern end of the line is at East Gomeldon, just outside Salisbury. Incidentally this village is where my dad grew up. Stone trains to Hamworthy and other locations on the Southern (except Woking) run via this line, as although it's further, it prevents a run round at Westbury. The Woking ones run via the Wylye valley, as the other route would still require a run round, albeit at Salisbury. The Lavington cement works has survived, despite the proximity of Westbury, as it is supplying many MoD and private projects around the Salisbury plain area.

post-6899-12584160525182_thumb.jpg

Layout overview