IKEA Display cabinets any good?

H2O

I'm looking to buy some floor mounted living room display cabinets for mainly OO and perhaps some O gauge models. I've found the following that look suitable. Anyone used these or have a similar sized favourite of there own? For my use they would need to be a normally stocked item.

https://www.ikea.com/gb/en/p/rudsta-vaxmyra-glass-door-cabinet-with-lighting-anthracite-s79418632/

Edited by H2O
Typo

• H2O changed the title to IKEA Display cabinets any good?

I’ve no experience of that specific product, however I’ve recently moved house and purchased many pieces of IKEA furniture, all of which I can highly recommend. Good quality at reasonable prices - IKEA is certainly not the low-end retailer it was seen as 20 years ago.

My one note of caution is that their shipping fees - if you want home delivery of furniture - is a £40 flat fee, regardless of your order size. I think this is on the steep side. Of course, this is not an issue if you are buying in store and have a vehicle that can accommodate the packages.

You might also want to consider the LIDL display cabinets - they have them in stock once or twice a year at certain times. I have one and it’s excellent quality - cheaper then that IKEA item (they are around £60-80 iirc).

Hope this helps. 

CoY 

• RMweb Premium

Again I don't have experience of that exact product but do have several IKEA units which have all given good service.  

They look OK but they also "look like IKEA" which is perfectly acceptable to most of us I'm sure.  They don't look top-end quality because they are not solid wood but chips, glue and laminate.    If sustainability matters to you then I suggest probing deeper into IKEA's specifications before purchase.