model railway club Coventry area

CovDriver

• RMweb Gold

After several months considering of starting a model railway club/society I thought it was about time make the idea public so to speak.

I know there is already a club in Coventry I was a member a few years ago but it seemed to be aimed at the steam era and towards the great western railway nothing wrong with that at all but they started a huge exhibition layout based on Trowbridge and let's just say I was a member almost 10years ago and the wiring is still not finished as i'm lead to believe so I would like to start maybe if the interest is there a small club to get a layout on the exhibition circuit!!

If anybody is interested the drop me a PM and maybe something could happen ?

• 1 year later...
  • 1 month later...

I looked into joining a fair few years ago, but seeing that I'm an N gauge modeler we aren't very well catered to :)

A few years later and I was thinking of moving to warwick, but could never get any response from the club there and the move fell through,

been meaning to go back but just haven't gotten round to it.

• RMweb Gold

Looking from the outside I think the main problem with this club is not many members with the hands on approach.Thats probably why Trowbridge is taking so long.In many ways this layout is right up my street as you'd expect but too many members just play trains at meetings without building anything.I'm guilty of this on my home layout. ;) The chairman is always asking me to join and do the scenery etc for them but I can't commit to them thinking my own layout build will suffer.However ,I could be interested in a smaller project like Cov Guard suggested.

• 1 month later...
  • RMweb Gold

Robin

Is the chairman still Kevin Price he's such a nice chap got a lot of time for him he's taught me a few tricks when it comes to scenery work !!