New Android app for controlling a JMRI powered layout: JMRI Controller

Over the last couple of months I have been developing an Android app for controlling JMRI. I do a lot of Android development in my day job, and my main hobby is working on my JMRI powered model railway. So for me it seemed the perfect project to combine the two.

I’ve been using the Engine Driver app for a few years now, and found it to be a pretty good wireless throttle with a lot of features. But I wanted to build something simpler that made it quicker and easier to perform the most common tasks (controlling locos and throwing turnouts). In particular I wanted:

Throttle and turnout control on the same screen.

Loco speed control somewhere within easy reach of my thumb.

An interface that scales well to 7 and 10 inch tablet screen sizes.

Anyway, I feel that the app is now ready for a beta release, so if anyone is interested, you can join the following Google+ community to get access to the beta app:

https://plus.google.com/communities/103043383838285932882

The app itself is fairly stable, but there may be crashes here occasionally, and there are definitely some bugs I haven’t fixed yet.

Here is a screenshot of how the app looks like on a phone:

Control%2Blayout.png

(There are lots more screenshots in the beta community).

In a couple of weeks I will fully launch the app on the Play Store so that anyone can download it, but for now it’s only available if you join the beta community, just in case there are any major issues.

I must mention that this app would have been impossible without the work the JMRI guys have already done with both WiThrottle and Engine Driver. To figure out the networking side of things I had to go digging into the Engine Driver source. A massive thank you to all involved!

This app will always be free, and never have ads. I’m doing this because I love railway modelling and app development.