German locomotive enquiries

Earl Bathurst

Good afternoon

Please pardon my ignorance, i am new to modelling German railways and was woundering if there is a list of the different classes and when they ran to and from in years?

Also is there a list of all the different steam/ Diesel and electric classes that have run in germany over the years?

Any help would be great.

Cheers

Scott

• RMweb Premium

It would be a rather complex answer...

German railway history is split into Epochs: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_rail_transport_in_Germany

There's some useful stuff here: http://www.worldrailfans.info/Articles/Europe/GBriefHistory.shtml

So you have the early, state-owned railway companies (Länderbahn) each with their own class designation and numbering systems (Epoch 1 1870-1919).

Post WW1, we enter Epoch 2, with the Länderbahnen unified as Deutsche Reichsbahn Gesellschaft (DRG) and you get a unified classification and numbering system, with the earlier designs being incorporated into their logical place. Some early electrification takes place. DRG also introduced the Einheitsloks (Standard designs), with further simplification for the Austerity (ÜK) and War (Kreigslok) designs during WW2.

Epoch 3 (1945-1970) gets more complex due to the split into the DDR (East Germany, Deutsche Reichsban - DR) and BRD (West Germany, Deutsche Bundesbahn - DB) each of which took control of the railways and locos/stock in their area at the end of the war. (The Soviets also confiscated a bunch of locos and kit from the East, some later returned). Each did some further development of steam designs, as well as diesel and electric designs.

Epoch 4 starts in 1970 with the introduction of the UIC computerised numbering system across Europe. DB steam finished in 1975 while the DR were still operating steam through to 1987/8.

Epoch 5 commences with re-unification in 1990, DR and DB formally merging as DBAG in 1994