The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

"Ordinary people, doing an extraordinary job"

br2975

This was clearly a tragic and horrific event for which all expressions of sympathy to his family are due. It is also symptomatic of the debt which society owes to these people who put their lives on the line for us each day.

Nonetheless, the scale of the reporting and the huge scale of the funeral, in this case, surprises me. A large number of police officers (not even counting Northern Ireland) have lost their lives during a crime or in pursuit of a criminal over the past 100 years, and I do not recall such attention since PC Blakelock. In 2013. Met PC Andrew Duncan was killed in very similar circumstances, but there was nothing like this. I am led to wonder why?

Having done 20+ years working alongside the Police & Fire, and latterly the Ambulance as well, as a Comms Engineer, I found it quite an eye-opener to see and hear what they get involved in. I have over that period realised what exceptional people they are, but still ordinary folk doing their day job. I have great respect for them all; occasionally you come across one on a bad day - they are only human - I can live with that. I also learnt from being with them that they have to cope with far mor than I ever do. Hence I personally have no time for stress and just get on with life.

Salute to every one of them. Thanks Guys.

Stewart

Mike,

It's a show of respect and support, all officers have a strong bond and when an officer is killed we all feel it.  The thin blue line is getting thinner and thinner, the police service as we know it is changing, and it's not for the better.

This is a show of strength and to show the Government that we care about each other even if they don't. We also care about the public we serve, that's why we joined the job.