Help needed with a diamond crossing

nomisd

I know this is a perennial question (I know because I have looked and read the all the previous postings) but its my first time actually laying the track and trying to put power through it so I need some hand holding....

The basics - Peco code 75, electrofrog points, DC power, point control - finger of God. The track plan is 

post-23087-0-42927500-1454921219_thumb.jpeg

I understand the caveats about relying on point blades for power supply. Everything was going swimmingly until it came to the diamond crossing. After spending about an hour yesterday morning wondering why it was all shorting, I came to the conclusion that I really did need the DPDT switch. So I have duly ordered one and wait its arrival. I then spent all afternoon trying to get my head around how to wire the feeds and the switch. I think I have understood it and think (hope) that this is correct

post-23087-0-24439600-1454921233_thumb.jpeg

Am I missing anything obvious?

Thanks in advance for any guidance

• RMweb Gold

I assume your diamond crossing is the Electrofrog type, as Peco also offer an Insulfrog version.  If so, you need IRJs on the 4 vee-rails of this crossing.  This then means the two frogs are completely isolated electrically.  You then wire up the two frogs to your DPDT switch so as to provide power to each frog according to which route is set.

• RMweb Premium

One way of doing it automatically would be to have a 4 pole relay with outputs to all 4 V's of the crossing. That can either be switched manually with a simple on off switch or could be driven by one of the points so that it's automatic for whichever route is set. I've used the manual version on Green Ayre with wo LED's in the track plan on the control panel so that you can see what route is set. If you are interested I could draw you the circuit.

Jamie