Hi, I am a novice and new to the world of model railways. I am experiencing a loss of power in my layout at particular points in my layout as trains seem to slow down and I am unsure why. The layout is very new, the track is clean and it is DC being powered by a Gaugemaster controller. The controller is wired to a piece of track with connectors on it. I assume the issue is something to do with wiring in some way after looking at youtube videos and reading online articles. However, with being a novice I do not understand how to fix the problem to make the power consistent and ensure trains run at a constant speed throughout the layout. It is a single track loop with some sidings and an inner loop for a through station. I have attached a drawing below. Please can someone give me advice / assistance in a way that a novice like myself can understand.

Many thanks

Daviepost-30398-0-65198600-1478207984_thumb.png

Hello Dave - Welcome.

The usual culprits for loss of power (drop in voltage) are problems with rail joiners and problems with point blades.

You could use a volt meter and check the voltage across the track at various locations and it might narrow the location down.  Rail joiners need to be a tight fit between rails.  Point blades need to be pressed tight against the stock rail.  Could you operate your train and physically push the point blades across to confirm that they are transferring power correctly?  What you do about it if they are not working properly is another question!

Some people might like more details, set track or flexi track, new or second hand, make?

Good luck

Ray