What is melting point of white Metal?

I am trying to reduce a K's GWR railcar to its component parts and assumed that it had been assembled with 70 degree solder but after placing it in a pot of boiling water, this clearly is not the case. My next option is to use the oven but before I do, what is the melting point for white Metal, as I only want to melt the solder and not the castings?

Regards,

Steve

To me that sounds a risky option, I'm no expert but have built a good few white metal kits. I think the next step up from low melt solder at around 70C is 130C, but I fear that is close to WM melting point. Is it possible to salvage the kit without dismantling or has it been badly assembled? I'm sure others may well have better advice

Depends on the composition of the white metal.

A white metal alloy may include antimony, tin, lead, cadmium, bismuth, and zinc. Not all of these metals are found in all white metal alloys. Metals are mixed to achieve a desired goal or need. A base metal for jewellery needs to be castable, polishable, have good flow characteristics, have the ability to cast fine detail without an excessive amount of porosity and cast at between 230C and 300C.

Bill

This issue has been highlighted before by, I believe, Richard Jones. It appears that after a period of time some interaction between the low point solder and the white metal occurs. This prevents the subsequent re-melting of the low point joint in boiling water. 

Possibly daft suggestion...

Could cooking oil be substituted for water? You would be able to very carefully and incrementally be able to raise the temperature gradually above 100C.

However I make no claims for the safety of this method or how easy it will be to clean the parts afterwards...

• RMweb Premium

Having played around with my temperature controlled soldering iron to establish the same thing, I can confirm that the whitemetal used in the kits I tried it on melts with the iron set at around 200 degrees C.