Peco Setrack curved points

Peppercorn

Good afternoon,

I thought that, for the sake of speed and convenience, I'd use this range of track for my fiddle yard. My design includes a pair of the curved points. I've asked Peco what the two radii are of these points, but dealing with Peco is like drawing teeth and they don't seem to be able to address the question. So, how about RMWeb? I thought: does anyone know? As a supplementary, is any modification necessary to them for DCC ?

Thanks in anticipation,

CliffH

I had three for my fiddleyard, they went back within a week - Hornby M7s and Black Motors detested them and some of my other stock wasnt too happy either.

EMUs were happier and I imagine diesel/electrics will also be happy.

I went back to streamline code 100 curved points.

I have no experience with Peco curved turnouts personally, but of what Ive heard, avoid if possible, and certainly dont have several in a string.

Many people report issues regarding derailing and inconsistent radius.

In a fiddle yard, its a recipe for frustration.

• Like 1

I would have a look at those Peco points.

When Peco first introduced them they were 1st radius, but when Bachmann/Replica started introducing locos(V1/2/3 ) that would only go round a minimum of 2nd radius, they changed the design to 2nd radius.

You can still find the smaller radius ones which are excellent for small locos, but it does sound lke the points you have are the old ones. The new ones are far far bettter than anything Hornby or Bachmann do(the Bachmann ones were originally designed for Hornby by Roco, so both types are virtually the same)

• Like 1

I have no experience with Peco curved turnouts personally, but of what Ive heard, avoid if possible, and certainly dont have several in a string.

Many people report issues regarding derailing and inconsistent radius.

In a fiddle yard, its a recipe for frustration.