DCC functions ... what is required?

VicZA

Hi All,

This will be a very, very simple question so please excuse the complete beginner question. What do you need to buy in order to get your train to run AND do all the built in functions like lights and sounds, etc ... is it enough to get a controller such as the Hornby R8213 or do I need to look at other/more items?

Thanks

Victor

Some sound decoders now have up to 28 functions so if your interested in sound and lights you need a system capable of accessing 28 functions. NCE Powercab to name one of the cheaper ones.

. . . but the controller will not do the job unless the train has a decoder fitted.  Most ready to run items do not have a decoder fitted - even those shown as DCC Ready.

Harold.

Especially those shown as 'DCC Ready'. Straight of the shelf most will be DC only and will need a decoder (chip) fitted. Has that at the club just recently, a new member wondered why the DCC controller would not run his locos which he thought had DCC fitted. The we saw the box which was labelled 'DCC Ready'! All that usually means is that it has a socket to take a DCC decoder. So he now has to get some decoders.

Going on to the function issue, do verify that the controller can handle the requisite number of functions, some of the cheaper ones can only access a few functions maybe 8 or 14 perhaps 16.

John

Hi All,

This will be a very, very simple question so please excuse the complete beginner question. What do you need to buy in order to get your train to run AND do all the built in functions like lights and sounds, etc ... is it enough to get a controller such as the Hornby R8213 or do I need to look at other/more items?

Thanks

Victor

The simple questions frequently have the hardest answers, and your's is one of them. You said that you're a complete beginner, so I'll try to make things as simple as possible.