Isawe Valley Railroad

Hi, long time visitor, first time poster.

I thought you may be interested in seeing my first model train project since my childhood Hornby type layouts back in the 80's. The name is courtesy of my wife who was forever asking how much longer she would have to look at this 'eye-sore'. The name has stuck.

I've always wanted to have a go at an N-scale layout and finally found the courage (and cash) to have a go. Since I have no real experience in model layout building the entire process has been an enormous learning curve. Many mistakes were made. Many.

For a few years now I have been a contributing content creator for N3V's Trainz PC game and a couple of my creations were included in their "Model Trains" release version. I've also created hundreds of other non-released layouts. Because of this I knew from the start pretty much what I wanted to create and how it should all fit together. Queue the initial shopping spree (mistake #1)! The first parts purchased were the track which I wanted as code 55 so I ordered enough Micro Engineering track and peco points for my plan along with a loco and some freight cars. 

Once everything turned up I grabbed some timber and foam board and laid out the underlay making sure everything was going to fit, pinned the first piece of track, went to install the first point and... apparently Peco and Micro Engineering have different sizes of Code 55 rail. Plan binned, tantrum successful.