Catch points

Exonian

Hello

I am new to railway modelling. The subject for my first layout is the Gooods Depot in the attached map. 

Do I need catch points?

I can see possible places:

1) where the line from the depot meet the branch comin from the south;

2) where the branch lines meets the main line  (on the embankment by the goods depot);

3) where the line from the basin meets the main line.

Many thanks 

1935 OS map.png

The general rule is  you need trap points if without them a train or individual wagons could get out from a siding or yard onto a passenger line.  Sometimes there is a set of points already there that will do the job, for example if there is a headshunt on the yard.  So your answer depends on the exact track layout and also on whether the branch is classed as a passenger line.  

Incidentally when used in this role they are referred to as trap points.  Catch points are when they are used on inclines to derail a train that might be rolling back.  

• Agree 1

Catch points are used to derail vehicles which are out of control on steep slopes (known as runaways). Trap points are used to protect main railway lines from unauthorised vehicles moving onto them from sidings or branch lines. They are only required where the main railway lines carry passengers.

1 - Assuming the branch from the south is a passenger line, yes, the depot would have a trap point.

2 - If the branch line is a passenger line, then my understanding is that there wouldn't be a trap point where the branch meets the mainline

3 - Assuming the mainline is a passenger line, yes, the connection from the basin would have a trap point.