formation of silver bullet china clay trains

chinaclayfan

Hi everyone this is my first time on the forum so my apologies for any mistakes I make

Quite simply would you have been able to see formations made up of clean and dirty wagons in the same train .

Having looked at endless amounts of photos it seems to me that formations were one or the other , unless anyone knows differently .

My modelling era is 1993 /1994 .thankyou

In 1989 (I note your later time period) the newly introduced service ran as 6Z55 with a single Laira 37/5 hauling a mix of around 6 new, shiny Caledonian paper mill silver bullets and a few work stained Nacco examples (around 10 tanks in total in the consist)…these were at the back in a Summer 1989 Irvine - Burngullow working that I photographed nr Dumfries. A clean 37670 in Railfreight red diamond livery was the loco.

BeRTIe

Edited by BR traction instructor
  • Informative/Useful 1

8 hours ago, chinaclayfan said:

Hi everyone this is my first time on the forum so my apologies for any mistakes I make

Quite simply would you have been able to see formations made up of clean and dirty wagons in the same train .

Having looked at endless amounts of photos it seems to me that formations were one or the other , unless anyone knows differently .

My modelling era is 1993 /1994 .thankyou

Welcome to RMweb,

I think that originally an effort was made to keep the tanks clean, your 1993/94 date was about the time that the cleaning regime was relaxed, or abandoned. Like you I have found photos of either all clean, or all stained tanks. Photos from 1993 show shiny tanks, photos from 1994 onwards show tanks getting progressively more stained,

cheers

Thanks for your help rivercider A friend of mine now seems to think there is a photo of the Burngullow to Irvine train approaching Preston with half shiny half stained wagons . I,ve looked for this for a while but cannot seem to find it , anyway thanks for your help

cheers