Planning my first layout

Sweetling Park

Hello all, this is my first post so I hope that I am posting this in the right place.

I am new to model railways and am about to start planning my first OO gauge layout.  I wasn't sure how best to go about it, so have purchased a few track plan books to give me some inspiration, along with copy of the AnyRail software to help me with the actual design.  I am having a little bit of trouble with AnyRail and was wondering if anyone would be able to point me in the right direction, please?   I would also be most grateful for some advice on how best to go about a track plan, please.

To give you some background, the space I have available is 2.85m (approx. 9' 4") by 2.22m (approx. 7' 3") in a spare bedroom.  I would like to have continuous loop running with a space in the centre for operating the layout.  On this basis, the baseboards will have a maximum depth of 760mm (approx. 2' 6"), with the exception of one side (wide side) which has a maximum depth of 660mm (approx. 2' 2") in the middle for 1.07m (approx. 3' 6") in width due to space constraints.  There will also be a small lift out section of 500mm by 760mm (approx. 1' 8" by 2' 6") on the opposite side (wide side) to allow access to the operating area.  The remainder will be made up of five baseboards.  The baseboards will be built in modular form to allow for easy removal in the future should the need arise.  The exact dimensions of each baseboard module have also been calculated so that the 12mm birch plywood can be cut to the exact size.  Here is a diagram to give you a better idea of the space I have to play with:

1285587433_Layoutbaseboardplan.jpg.f292699015d3e490bd2dc13b4938cb2b.jpg