Volks Electric Black Rock Station diorama (and other early electric traction)

Yesterday's 'diorama a day' featured my model of Volks' shortlived 'Daddylonglegs' seagoing electric car. For today, it is back on land for the associated and historic narrow gauge Volks Electric Railway. Note the open topped bus in the background of this image.

5375509269_5ce876aba0_z.jpg

https://dewi.ca/trains/brighton/volks.html

So the bus also features in my diorama, based on a similar preserved vehicle. I'm not a bus expert or a bus modeller, but this fine example rather appealed. 

Brighton%20Hove%20&%20District%20Bristol

https://www.showbus.co.uk/gallery/south/bh&d6.htm

As I remember, it started off as one of these, before a repaint and detailing with railings and bespoke blinds.

s-l1600.png

from ebay

So after all that bus stuff, here is the 1:76 diorama, with a 3D printed art deco station building and rolling stock. The track is 9mm Peco, and the platform a proprietary moulding from the rummage box at a show. The grassy bank was hanging basket liner, and the sandy beach was sand from the local river (or was it? I think the base might have been Poundland sandpaper). The scene is rather compressed (no car park!) but hopefully captures the essentials.

Brighton Beach

I have visited Brighton, but I got there by bicycle on the organised London to Brighton ride, so there was no chance to ride on or even visit the iconic first narrow gauge electric railway on the UK mainland.

Edited by Dunalastair
  • Like 12
  • Round of applause 1

1 hour ago, Dunalastair said:

Yesterday's 'diorama a day' featured my model of Volks' shortlived 'Daddylonglegs' seagoing electric car. For today, it is back on land for the associated and historic narrow gauge Volks Electric Railway. Note the open topped bus in the background of this image.

5375509269_5ce876aba0_z.jpg

https://dewi.ca/trains/brighton/volks.html