If you're new to the forum this is an ideal place to introduce yourself.

Greetings from Germany

Kinlochleven

Hello from Dortmund in Germany.  I joined the forum because I'm thinking about building a layout with a Scottish scene (West Highland to be precise). I just walked the West Highland Way last May, my first visit to Scotland in 30 Years and it was great. Scotland is just the country for me. As I came past the West Highland Line here and there the plan for a West Highland based layout came to my mind. So I studied a few books I have at home, bought another one and searched the web. Stumbling over information about the Ballachulish branch I found out that an extension from Ballachulish to Kinlochleven has been considered once upon a time. My plan now is to build a Kinlochleven station (the reason for my username),  the track plan loosely based on Ballachulish (2 platforms with passing loop, a few goods sidings, but leave out the depot), set roughly in the mid 80s.

As I have seen a few videos on Youtube from a channel called "budget model railways" I decided to go with older pre-owned stuff. The layout will be analogue anyway, so I found myself a few Lima locos for a decent price on eBay. I can do some fine detailing later I think. So a 37 and a 27 is already in the mail. Hope I can find out something more about British Railways here...

Edited by Kinlochleven
additional information
  • Like 4
  • Friendly/supportive 1

• RMweb Gold

Welcome to RMweb.

There are a few of us here with interest in the west highland line.  You couldn’t really call us a sub-group or sub-forum but I have always found that there is friendly, mutual support and we all learn from each other.  

Enjoy having a browse of the existing WHL layouts and hopefully we will soon see a thread on your layout. I look forward to it.

Good to hear that you enjoyed your West Highland Way walk too.

Edited by BoD
  • Like 3