Blyth Station - Late 50's / Early 60's

AndrewG

Apologies if this has already been discussed elsewhere, but I couldn't find anything in the search function....

I'm looking to recreate Blyth Station (Blyth and Tyne) in 1/76. Modeled in the late 50's, early 60's era approaching closure of the station. G5's / DMU's etc.

Can anyone point me in the direction of specific locomotives (likely to be G5's?) or Class of DMU that operated at Blyth Station in this era? The photographs I've uncovered so far have generic captions mentioning DMU but don't mention whether these would be  Class 101, 104 etc and what livery they would be carrying?

I'm a novice to the world of DMU's but I'm hoping that something from the RTR market lines up with the prototype, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

22 minutes ago, AndrewG said:

Apologies if this has already been discussed elsewhere, but I couldn't find anything in the search function....

I'm looking to recreate Blyth Station (Blyth and Tyne) in 1/76. Modeled in the late 50's, early 60's era approaching closure of the station. G5's / DMU's etc.

Can anyone point me in the direction of specific locomotives (likely to be G5's?) or Class of DMU that operated at Blyth Station in this era? The photographs I've uncovered so far have generic captions mentioning DMU but don't mention whether these would be  Class 101, 104 etc and what livery they would be carrying?

I'm a novice to the world of DMU's but I'm hoping that something from the RTR market lines up with the prototype, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'd say a  Metro- Cammell Class 101 would be very likely

It would be worth looking at 'Irish-Swiss Ernie's  web pages:-https://www.flickr.com/photos/irishswissernie/albums and David Ford's :- https://www.flickr.com/photos/davidwf2009/

• Like 1

• RMweb Gold