GCR Loco - Beginner

Haggerleases

Hi all. 

After floating around at the periphery of the hobby, doing a lot of reading and making a few false starts, I'm ready to jump in and make a real start. 

I have a 9' X 18' garage attached to my house which is warm, dry, well-lit and entirely at my disposal, and I've constructed two 4' X 2'  baseboards to allow me to start laying track.

I'm a member of the EMGS, so track will be EM gauge, and period will be pre-grouping. (year yet to be decided, but certainly pre-WW1).

Company will be Great Central.

My question is: Can anyone suggest a loco to put together from a kit? or even scratch-build?

I'm an engineer (working for the Fire Brigade) and I have a good lathe and a drilling machine at home as well as the usual hand tools, so I'm reasonably technically adept, though lacking experience in model locomotive building in 4mm scale. I think it's important to maintain the momentum and get something up and running fairly sharpish, so a kit may be the way forward. I just want something to shunt a few wagons about on a shunting plank while I develop the main layout and build track. 

I visited Tony Gee a couple of years back and had a little operating session on Buckingham, and that really whetted my appetite. Thanks Tony! 

Regards

Stew.

• Like 1

GCR kits? Just off the top of my head and currently available.

DJH J10 0-6-0

https://www.djhmodelloco.co.uk/product/k32-kit-gcr-9h-later-lner-br-j10-0-6-0-4000g-tender/

Judith Edge J63 0-6-0T

and N4/N5 this is a "scratch aid" rather than a full kit, maybe just what you are looking for? 

https://www.ukmodelshops.co.uk/catalogue/judithedge.html

PDK do the D10 and D11 4-4-0s

http://www.pdkmodels.co.uk/

There are a few more, but most aren't currently available and must be sourced second hand. Usually quite easy to find such as Little Engines J11s and Nucast C13s.

Jason

• Like 1

16 hours ago, Steamport Southport said:

DJH J10 0-6-0