Using a TCS UWT wireless controller to replace a Powercab

Tallpaul69

Can the TCS UWT wireless controller be used to replace a Powercab wired controller in a layout control system? I assume I would need to connect some sort of receiver unit into the socket in the NCE unit that the Powercab currently plugs into?

The Powercab is only used for loco control, accessories such as points and signals are conventionally controlled by switches and pushbuttons on a Mimic diagram.

Any help gratefully received! However, please keep the explanations simple, do not bombard me with Tecspeak, I am not a DCC expert!

Cheers

Paul  

Yes,  but you need some sort of network connection device, as well as a WiFi network (home router, or cheap stand alone device if you prefer).    It doesn't replace the PowerCab (the primary Powercab has to stay connected unless you've upgraded the system to a SB5 or PowerPro, but you can leave the Powercab handset on a shelf and not touch it).   The TCS UWT would provides an additional wireless handset.   

There are two main network connection options for an NCE system: 

a)   The WiFiTrax adaptor for NCE systems.    This costs under £80  (eg. Coastal DCC) .     I believe its a good device which is able to be properly configured to use all the features of the TCS wireless controllers - setting meaningful names to functions for each loco, having a list of loco names in a roster,  controlling which keys are latching or non-latching, etc.. etc..   (whereas the similar-ish WiFi adaptors from Digitrax or MRC/Gaugemaster lack the advanced configuration options).  

b)   A computer interface onto the NCE system (from NCE), and a computer running JMRI for it's WiThrottle server.   That computer can be almost anything, an old laptop, or a £50 Raspberry PI.    Being a computer, all the advanced configuration options are present.   

For the non-techie,  (a)  may be simpler.      I prefer the look of the TCS UWT-50  over the 100 model.