Ex-GWR milk van in 1966?

Trev52A

Like many spotters/photographers in the steam era my main attraction was the locos themselves, and it is only many years later that items which were unnoticed at the time a picture was taken now seem worthy of a second look. This an enlargement of the edge of a picture I took at Carlisle of the station pilot, Ivatt 2-6-2T No 41222, in May 1966. The vehicle has the running number W2937W and a search online informs me that this was a 1944-built Collett-design of gangwayed milk van. (Please correct me if I have that wrong.)

(407dS)41222Carlisle13-5-66(TrevorErmel).jpg.143aecd5a477c9a17a5506c84214a342.jpg

I am no expert on rolling stock, so my question is: in 1966 was it still used for milk traffic (and if so, where to/from in Carlisle?) or had the vehicle been rebuilt internally to do something else?

Many thanks in advance

Trevor

• Interesting/Thought-provoking 1

Commonly called a Siphon [the GWR code for it was Siphon G]. Siphons were designed for carrying milk churns and general parcels traffic; milk churns ceased to be used in the late 30s by and large, so thereafter Siphons were parcels stock, seen anywhere in Britain in BR days.

• Like 3

43 minutes ago, Trev52A said:

Like many spotters/photographers in the steam era my main attraction was the locos themselves, and it is only many years later that items which were unnoticed at the time a picture was taken now seem worthy of a second look. This an enlargement of the edge of a picture I took at Carlisle of the station pilot, Ivatt 2-6-2T No 41222, in May 1966. The vehicle has the running number W2937W and a search online informs me that this was a 1944-built Collett-design of gangwayed milk van. (Please correct me if I have that wrong.)

(407dS)41222Carlisle13-5-66(TrevorErmel).jpg.143aecd5a477c9a17a5506c84214a342.jpg