Stone cladding for Sketchup

Greetings all

I've recently started trying my hand at 3D printing, and in particular drawing various structures I think are well suited to the technology.

I'm new to Sketchup, which I find less intuitive than Corel (the program I've used for laser files in the past.) The challenge I face is replicating stone. In Corel I have previously drawn individual stones in (laborious). Yesterday I downloaded an extension from Vali Architects for Sketchup.

The extension works well - drawing decent looking dressed stone, while negotiating corners, windows and doors (slow though). The problem is the pattern of the stonework repeats itself every 4 stones or so - spoiling an otherwise quite convincing wall structure. (It's fine if you don't look too closely, but it is apparent quite quickly if you look for it. This is a problem of most plastic and card stone sheets, and a pet peeve of mine.)

Does anyone have a recommendation for me? Are there better extensions out there? Am I better off drawing individual stones and pulling them to establish depth?

Regards

Neil

Unfortunately, unless you can somehow adapt one  of the "Random scatter" add-ons intended for adding trees etc in random positions I think you are stuck with drawing them individually. It may be  possible to group enough stones that you could then use as an array in order to cut down some of the work, especially if you mirrored  and inverted the group in order to disguise the repetition.  

I've done  many brick buildings in Sketchup, no stone ones though.

It is possible to create realistic  stone and brick  wall "sheets"  in Blender using bump and displacement maps created from photographic texture files , then export the file as an stl or obj  which you import it  into SketchUp to complete the model, which is probably the easiest way, though it can create massive files that Sketchup struggles with.  @EDDY100 did have a tutorial on it around here at one point.