American HO steam question

NZRedBaron

I hope I don't sound confrontational, but..... do American companies even make steam locomotives anymore, for the budget/'just getting into the hobby' end of the market?

I've looked around as many different manufacturers as I could find, and it's just an endless sea of EMD carbodies and 'Geeps', that or modern diesels; and when I specifically look for steam, it seems to be nothing other than 'Wild West' 4-4-0's, USRA switchers, and the UP 'Big Boy', with almost no variety, and all going at 'silly money' prices to boot.

• Interesting/Thought-provoking 1

5 hours ago, long island jack said:

Bachmann do cheaper steam engines, not sure how go they are

https://shop.bachmanntrains.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=258_276

In general, Bachmann USA products are not as well thought of as those of Bachmann UK. However, their diesels are perfectly functional - I’ve no experience of their steam models.

I think the Bachmann 'Spectrum' models are regarded as better than ordinary Bachmann? Not sure, as it's not my sphere of interest really.