ECML trackwork and signalling in mid-1950s

Evening all,

A quick question if I may - im looking in the fullness of time to build a layout representing a little of the London end of the ECML in the mid-1950s.  I have little knowledge of trackwork, but am learning slowly.  Can anyone say whether the main lines and goods lines would have been flat bottomed rail or bullhead at that time. Im assuming the latter, but it is just a guess. 

Given the length of time that rail would last in sidings and platforms and turntables etc, Im assuming those would all be bullhead, but any advice would be welcomed.

Also can anyone tell me when the semaphores vanished between Kings Cross and Hatfield please?  I think Kings Cross was resignalled to colour light in the 1930s, but im not sure how far out of the 'Cross' that went?

Cheers

Richie

11 minutes ago, BetweenTheTunnels said:

Also can anyone tell me when the semaphores vanished between Kings Cross and Hatfield please?  I think Kings Cross was resignalled to colour light in the 1930s, but im not sure how far out of the 'Cross' that went?

Cheers

Richie

Early to mid 1970s

Diagram of Kings Cross 1969 before resignalling shows the area it covered. 

PWOwen's site has a lot of interesting box diagrams, especially East of England, and much of the southern end of the ECML at various dates.

The Power Signal Box that replaced it ran a lot futher, handing over to a similar one, Peterborough PSB.

• Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Gold
54 minutes ago, BetweenTheTunnels said:

Cheers

Richie

Notices for resignalling of the ECML are in the Signal Record Society link below, generally areas were concentrated into one of the old signal boxes and then the relevant power box took over that area.

https://www.s-r-s.org.uk/ArchiveSignals/brer.php

• Agree 1
  • Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Premium
1 hour ago, BetweenTheTunnels said:

Evening all,